The four parts of the Mind ~ S.N. Goenka

Photo by Steve Johnson on

In the referenced video, S.N. Goenka goes on to explain the four different parts of the mind.

According to him, there are four different parts of the Mind

1. Vinnyana or Consciousness – 6 Vinnyanas. These include the consciousness that arises from the Eye, Ear, Tongue, Nose, Mind and Body.

2. Sanya or Perception – Function of this part of the mind is to recognize and evaluate.

3. Vedhana or Sensation – Function is to realize the sensation.

4. Sankhara or Reaction – Function is to react, to give fruit to the sensation. This is the volition of the mind. The 3 types of Sankharas include a) like line drawn on water b) like line drawn on sand on beach c) like line drawn on rock, deep line.

Watch the video below:

About the speaker

Satya Narayan Goenka, or S.N. Goenka as he is fondly called, was born on 29th January 1924. He was born in Burma to an Indian business family. He moved to India in the year 1969 and started teaching meditation. Through his teachings, he emphasized that Buddha’s path to liberation was non-sectarian. He later became an influential teacher. He played a vital role in the set up of non-commercial Vipassana meditation centers across the globe. He won the Padma Bhushan in the year 2012.

You can read more about the biography of S.N. Goenka on below link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s